unexpected ultrasound (12 weeks 1 day)

I went to the doctor for a regular checkup, and I had the worse experience ever! My regular doctor is leaving the practice, so she advised me to rotate between the doctors within the practice. I was happy to meet with this one particular doctor since I have heard good things about her.

First off, I had to wait 45 minutes just to get into the room. Then I waited about another 15 minutes before she actually came into the room. As soon as she came in, she asked me why I was there. I thought that it was a very strange question to ask a patient. I responded, “For a checkup, since I am pregnant.”. She then said, “I now that you are pregnant, but why are you here?”.  I was stunned. I had no idea what to say. She then went on to say that there was a note next to my name stating “swelling” and asked if I knew why that note was there. I had no idea what that was about. She then proceeded to lightly check my leg to ensure that my leg was not swollen (nice checkup!). She then asked me to raise my shirt so she can check my belly. Using this stick like thing, she started to move the stick on my belly. I was not sure what she was doing, so I decided to ask. Apparently she was trying to hear the baby’s heartbeat. This went on for about 5 minutes. She could not hear it and she kept saying “One way or another we are going to hear this baby’s heartbeat!”. At this point I became worried. How come she was not able to hear the heart beat??? Was there something wrong?? She then told me that I have to go and get an ultrasound.

After waiting for another 15 minutes, I was finally getting the ultrasound. It was just as amazing as the first one! The baby was fine and the reason why the doctor could not hear the heart beat was because it was moving a ton (again!). This is one active baby! HA! Since the ultrasound was unexpected, we did not have a CD with us, so we had to scan the paper photos; hence the poor quality.

Although I had a bad experience with the doctor, I got to see the baby again, which helped me to forget about the entire experience. The baby has grown so much since the last ultrasound. As you can see from the photo above, you can actually see a leg and an arm.  It was so great! During the ultrasound, it kept pushing its legs towards the uterus wall, which made it bounce. It was so neat!!

The baby features are pretty visible as well. If you look closely, you can see the mouth, nose, and chin. Just amazing!!

Leave a Reply

